← Back to the Labs tiles

Generative video

3 labs · 20 models and products Theme: Companies · Generated from this page's data. Click a name to open its panel on the Labs page. Records resting on one source are tagged "one source".

Generative video AI makes short moving clips from a text prompt or a still image. Haiper, a London company, built a generative AI model that makes short video clips from text prompts (per the site). The tile also lists video models from Google DeepMind, such as Veo 3, which makes 8-second clips at 1080p or 4K, and from Stability AI, whose Stable Video Diffusion turns a single image into a short clip (per the site). Questions about training on copyright material remain open: the government consulted on AI and copyright in 2024–25.

Context

  1. Stability AI released Stable Video Diffusion with its code and model weights public. 25 November 2023 arxiv.org/abs/2311.15127We release code and model weights at https://github.com/Stability-AI/generative-models.
  2. Google DeepMind's Genie generates interactive environments from images and is described by its authors as a "foundation world model". 23 February 2024 arxiv.org/abs/2402.15391Genie can be considered a foundation world model.
  3. The government consulted on how UK copyright law should apply to training AI models. 17 December 2024 gov.uk/government/consultations/copyright-and-arThis consultation seeks views on how the government can ensure the UK’s legal framework for AI and copyright
  4. The government published a report and impact assessment on copyright and AI. 18 March 2026 gov.uk/government/publications/report-and-impactA report and impact assessment on the use of copyright works in the development of artificial intelligence (AI) systems.

Key papers

Labs Round 8 (31 Oct 2026): introduction and facts as the researchers wrote them; "(per the site)" marks a sentence resting on this site's own description of that lab.

RecordWhat it isPlaceLinksConfidence
Agora-1 (multi-agent world model)Chips, models and productsOdyssey world model in which several people or AI agents share and act in the same generated world at once. research preview (public demo)Key facts Announced 18 May 2026; up to four players in one generated world (shared deathmatch simulation); access: early research preview demoMade by Odyssey · 2026-05-18odyssey.systems/introducing-agora-1 · odyssey.systems/writinglab's own pages
Agora-2Chips, models and productsSecond version of Odyssey's multi-agent world simulation model. announcedKey facts Announced 24 Sep 2026; post not opened (link blocked)Made by Odyssey · 2026-09-24odyssey.systems/writingone source
Explorer (Odyssey image-to-world model)Chips, models and productsOdyssey's first model, which turns a single image into a detailed 3D world. research (early; production trial)Key facts Announced 18 Dec 2024; generations took an average of 10 minutes; trialled in a production workflow with Garden Studios; access: not statedMade by Odyssey · 2024-12-18odyssey.systems/introducing-explorer · odyssey.systems/writinglab's own pages
Gemini Omni (Omni, Omni Flash, Omni 1.1 Flash)Chips, models and productsGoogle DeepMind's model for creating content "from anything", starting with video. releasedKey facts Theme: Generative video. Gemini Omni introduced 17 May 2026; Gemini Omni Flash for developers 30 Jun 2026; Gemini Omni 1.1 Flash 27 Aug 2026 (model card "Gemini Omni Flash" updated 27 Aug 2026).Made by Google DeepMind · 2026-05-17London (EC2M 4AG) (via Google DeepMind)deepmind.google/models/ · deepmind.google/blog/rss.xmllab's own pages
HaiperCompaniesLondon company that built a generative AI model making short video clips from text prompts. dormant
Profile
Founded
2021
Founders
Yishu Miao — co-founder and CEO (former DeepMind; led TikTok's London ML team); Ziyu Wang — co-founder and CTO (former DeepMind and Google Brain)
Chief executive
Yishu Miao — from null
Hq
London (England: London); other_offices: null
What it does
A London company that built a visual foundation model for generating short video clips from text, image and video prompts, aimed at publishers, studios and individuals. Its Haiper 1.5 release (July 2024) made 8-second clips with a 1080p upscaler.
Research focus
video generation; visual foundation models
Models and products
Haiper 1.5 — text/image/video-to-video, 8-second clips, 1080p upscaler — 16 July 2024
Funding total as published
19,200,000 USD (£15.1m) — as of 6 March 2024 — https://www.businesscloud.co.uk/news/video-generative-ai-platform-raises-10-8m/ (trade)
Rounds found
2024-03-06 — seed — 13,800,000 USD (£10.8m) — Octopus Ventures (per BusinessCloud; deal file says "not named") — others not named (already DEAL-LAB-031 / DEAL-LAB-2030)
Status now
null — no news after July 2024 found in this round.

Labs Round 7 deep profile (30 Oct 2026), as the researchers wrote it; confidence: single_source.

Sources

  1. uktech.news/ai/haiper-ai-video-generation-202403
  2. businesscloud.co.uk/news/video-generative-ai-pla
  3. venturebeat.com/ai/exclusive-meet-haiper-1-5-the
Models and products (3)

Version chainsHaiper Video 1.5 → 2.x

  1. Haiper Video 1.5 — (release date not stated on docs) released (API and app)Haiper's earlier video model that makes short clips from a text prompt or a still image.
  2. Haiper Video 2.0 (2.x) — (release date not stated on docs; launch post on haiper.ai not opened) released (API and app)Haiper's second-generation video model for text-to-video and image-to-video clips.
  3. Haiper Image 1.5 and Haiper Image 2.x — (release dates not stated) released (API)Haiper's text-to-image models, offered alongside its video models.
Key facts and news (4)
Founders
Dr Yishu Miao — CEO (former DeepMind researcher, Oxford ML PhD, led TikTok's London ML team); Dr Ziyu Wang — CTO (former DeepMind researcher, Oxford ML PhD, worked on AlphaStar and AlphaGo, staff research scientist at Google Brain) one source businesscloud.co.uk/news/video-generative-ai-pla
Funding as published (reported)
$19.2m (£15.1m) after the March 2024 seed round led by Octopus Ventures one source businesscloud.co.uk/news/video-generative-ai-pla
Research focus
Training its own "perceptual foundation model" for video generation, with academic lab partnerships at several universities (Mar 2024) one source businesscloud.co.uk/news/video-generative-ai-pla
Models released
Haiper Video 1.5, Haiper Video 2.x, Haiper Image 1.5, Haiper Image 2.x listed in API pricing (no dates); developer docs announce "Haiper 2.0 is here"; Haiper 1.0 not found on pages opened one source docs.haiper.ai/api-reference/api-pricing

Labs Round 8 (31 Oct 2026), from the researchers' rows; one-source items are marked.

Northdown Street, London (N1 9BN)Companies House · uktech.news/ai/haiper-ai-video-generation-202403 · find-and-update.company-information.service.gov. · uktech.news/tag/haiper · find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.verified
Haiper Video 1.5Chips, models and productsHaiper's earlier video model that makes short clips from a text prompt or a still image. released (API and app)Key facts Clip durations 2, 4 or 8 seconds; aspect ratios 21:9 to 1:1; camera moves (pan, tilt, zoom); API price $0.05 per second at 720p and $0.033 at 540p; extend and 1080p upscale functions; access: API and appMade by Haiper · — (release date not stated on docs)Versions Haiper Video 1.5 → 2.xLondondocs.haiper.ai/api-reference/endpoint/1-5-text-i · docs.haiper.ai/api-reference/api-pricingone source
Haiper Video 2.0 (2.x)Chips, models and productsHaiper's second-generation video model for text-to-video and image-to-video clips. released (API and app)Key facts API "gen2" endpoints; text-to-video clips of 4 or 6 seconds (default 6); modes standard, smooth and enhanced; API price $0.05 per second at 720p, $0.033 at 540p; access: API and appMade by Haiper · — (release date not stated on docs; launch post on haiper.ai not opened)Londondocs.haiper.ai/introduction · docs.haiper.ai/api-reference/api-pricingone source
Muse (WHAM-1.6B, World and Human Action Model)Chips, models and productsMicrosoft's generative model of a video game, built with Ninja Theory, that predicts gameplay visuals and player actions to help designers try out ideas. research (Nature paper; demonstrator)Key facts Introduced 19 Feb 2025; published in Nature (2025); built by Microsoft Research's Game Intelligence / People-Centric AI work (Game Intelligence stated to have joined People-Centric AI at Microsoft Research Cambridge) with Xbox Game Studios' Ninja Theory; WHAM-1.6B trained on 7 years of gameplay, about 1 image per second at 300x180; team since moved into the Microsoft AI product groupMade by Microsoft Research Cambridge · 2025-02-19Cambridgemicrosoft.com/en-us/research/project/wham/ · microsoft.com/en-us/research/group/game-intelliglab's own pages
OdysseyCompaniesWorld-model company founded by British researchers, with California operations and a UK research team; given UK AIRR compute.
Profile
Legal name
null ("Odyssey ML" in The Decoder)
Founded
2023
Founders
Oliver Cameron — co-founder and CEO (former co-founder and CEO of Voyage; later VP of product at Cruise); Jeff Hawke — co-founder and CTO (former Wayve engineer)
Chief executive
Oliver Cameron — from null
Chief scientist or research lead
Jeff Hawke — CTO
Hq
Palo Alto, California (AI Business) / Menlo Park (Tech Funding News) (Outside the UK); other_offices: London; Zurich (The Decoder: team "works out of London, Zurich, and Palo Alto")
Headcount
55 — 17 June 2026 — https://the-decoder.com/amazon-nvidia-and-amd-bet-310-million-on-ai-startup-building-3d-world-models/ (trade)
What it does
A lab founded by two British AI researchers that builds "world models": AI that learns from video, sound and text to produce interactive, real-time simulated worlds. It is known for turning text prompts into interactive video. Its models are aimed at games, robotics, simulation and defence. It keeps a UK research team alongside its California base.
Research focus
world models; multimodal learning (vision, language, sound); interactive video; multi-agent shared worlds
Models and products
Odyssey-2 Max — world model (scale and physics) — date null; Starchild-1 — real-time multimodal audio and video — date null; Agora-1 — multi-agent shared world state — shown live in London 12 June 2026; PROWL — reinforcement learning agent that probes the world model — date null
Customers or partners named
AWS — preferred cloud provider; models to be optimised for Trainium chips — 17 June 2026 — https://techcrunch.com/2026/06/17/world-model-maker-odyssey-nabs-1-45b-valuation-backed-by-amazon-and-other-big-names/
Compute
AWS preferred cloud; Trainium chips (June 2026); Sovereign AI / AIRR compute in the UK (April 2026)
Funding total as published
337,000,000 USD — as of 17 June 2026 — https://techcrunch.com/2026/06/17/world-model-maker-odyssey-nabs-1-45b-valuation-backed-by-amazon-and-other-big-names/
Valuation reported
1,450,000,000 USD — June 2026 — TechCrunch; Air Street Press (investor); AI Business; The Decoder
Rounds found
late 2023 — seed — amount null — Air Street Capital wrote "the first check" — null; 2024-11-13 — Series A — 18,000,000 USD — EQT Ventures — null (NEW: DEAL-LAB-9002); 2026-06-17 — Series B — 310,000,000 USD — Natural Capital — Amazon, AMD Ventures, GV, EQT, IQT; angels Jeff Dean, Elad Gil, Garry Tan, Guillermo Rauch, Kyle Vogt (NEW: DEAL-LAB-9001)
Uk government links
Sovereign AI / AIRR compute — 16 April 2026 (already DEAL-LAB-2035)
Status now
Active; raised a $310m Series B at a $1.45bn valuation in June 2026, with teams in London, Zurich and Palo Alto.

Labs Round 7 deep profile (30 Oct 2026), as the researchers wrote it; confidence: verified (Series B, valuation); Series A and headcount single_source.

Sources

  1. press.airstreet.com/p/odyssey-series-b
  2. techcrunch.com/2026/06/17/world-model-maker-odys
  3. the-decoder.com/amazon-nvidia-and-amd-bet-310-mi
  4. gov.uk/government/news/ai-firms-pioneering-drug-
  5. maginative.com/odyssey-raises-18m-to-build-ai-wo
  6. aibusiness.com/generative-ai/world-model-ai-lab-
Models and products (11)

Version chainsOdyssey-1 → Odyssey-2 (Pro, Max) → Odyssey-3

  1. Agora-2 2026-09-24 announcedSecond version of Odyssey's multi-agent world simulation model.
  2. Odyssey-3 2026-09-15 announced (Sep 2026); further release post Oct 2026Odyssey's third-generation world model, described by the company as a general-purpose physical intelligence.
  3. CaliBench 2026-08-10 released (benchmark)Odyssey benchmark that tests whether world models are physically calibrated.
  4. Agora-1 (multi-agent world model) 2026-05-18 research preview (public demo)Odyssey world model in which several people or AI agents share and act in the same generated world at once.
  5. Starchild-1 2026-05-18 announcedOdyssey world model the company describes as the first real-time multimodal world model.
  6. PROWL-1 and PROWL-2 2026-05-12 announced (research)Odyssey research models that learn to act inside simulated worlds; the second learns simulation and decision-making together.
  7. Odyssey-2 Max 2026-04-21 private beta (partners)Larger Odyssey world model aimed at more physically accurate simulation for robotics, games and defence partners.
  8. Odyssey-2 Pro 2026-01-23 released (API with SDKs)Upgraded Odyssey world model offered to developers by API for interactive video streams.
  9. Odyssey-2 2025-10-27 released (browser demo; API to follow)Odyssey's general-purpose world model that generates interactive AI video instantly.
  10. Odyssey-1 2025-05-28 research preview (public demo)Odyssey's first real-time "playable" world model: AI video that a user can steer as it is generated.
  11. Explorer (Odyssey image-to-world model) 2024-12-18 research (early; production trial)Odyssey's first model, which turns a single image into a detailed 3D world.
Why it is here: reason: London-based lab training its own world model that generates interactive video in real time (up to 30 fps, 40ms response, May 2025)
Key facts and news (3)
Founders
Oliver Cameron — co-founder; Jeff Hawke — co-founder; board member Ed Catmull (Pixar co-founder) one source eweek.com/news/odyssey-ai-interactive-video/
Models released
Explorer (18 Dec 2024), Odyssey-1 (28 May 2025), Odyssey-2 (27 Oct 2025), Odyssey-2 Pro (23 Jan 2026), Odyssey-2 Max (21 Apr 2026), PROWL-1 (12 May 2026), Agora-1 and Starchild-1 (18 May 2026), CaliBench (10 Aug 2026), Odyssey-3 (15 Sep 2026), Agora-2 (24 Sep 2026), PROWL-2 (1 Oct 2026) one source odyssey.systems/writing

News

  • 12 February 2026 "Odyssey Announces Investment from NVentures & Samsung Next" — https://odyssey.systems/investment-from-nvidia-and-samsung (post not opened; not in deals_known — lead to verify as a funding deal) one source odyssey.systems/writing

Labs Round 8 (31 Oct 2026), from the researchers' rows; one-source items are marked.

gov.uk/government/news/ai-firms-pioneering-drug- · press.airstreet.com/p/odyssey-series-b · techcrunch.com/2026/06/17/world-model-maker-odys · the-decoder.com/amazon-nvidia-and-amd-bet-310-mione source
Odyssey-1Chips, models and productsOdyssey's first real-time "playable" world model: AI video that a user can steer as it is generated. research preview (public demo)Key facts Announced 28 May 2025; streams up to 30 FPS, a new frame every 40 ms; coherent streams of 5 minutes or more; runs on H100 clusters in the US and EU; cost $1–$2 per user-hour; access: public demoMade by Odyssey · 2025-05-28Versions Odyssey-1 → Odyssey-2 (Pro, Max) → Odyssey-3odyssey.systems/introducing-odyssey-1 · odyssey.systems/writinglab's own pages
Odyssey-2Chips, models and productsOdyssey's general-purpose world model that generates interactive AI video instantly. released (browser demo; API to follow)Key facts Announced 27 Oct 2025; 20 frames per second, each frame in under 50 ms; multi-minute streams; access: browser experience, API stated as coming soonMade by Odyssey · 2025-10-27odyssey.systems/introducing-odyssey-2 · odyssey.systems/writinglab's own pages
Odyssey-2 MaxChips, models and productsLarger Odyssey world model aimed at more physically accurate simulation for robotics, games and defence partners. private beta (partners)Key facts Announced 21 Apr 2026; about 3x the size of Odyssey-2 Pro and about 10x its training compute, on several hundred NVIDIA B200 GPUs; VBench 2 physics score 58.52 (Pro 49.67); PAI-Bench physics 93.02 (Pro 91.67); access: private betaMade by Odyssey · 2026-04-21odyssey.systems/introducing-odyssey-2-max · odyssey.systems/writinglab's own pages
Odyssey-2 ProChips, models and productsUpgraded Odyssey world model offered to developers by API for interactive video streams. released (API with SDKs)Key facts Announced 23 Jan 2026; streams 720p at 22 FPS for minutes; JavaScript and Python SDKs, iOS and Android planned; access: APIMade by Odyssey · 2026-01-23Versions Odyssey-1 → Odyssey-2 (Pro, Max) → Odyssey-3odyssey.systems/the-gpt-2-moment-for-world-model · odyssey.systems/writinglab's own pages
Odyssey-3Chips, models and productsOdyssey's third-generation world model, described by the company as a general-purpose physical intelligence. announced (Sep 2026); further release post Oct 2026Key facts Introduced 15 Sep 2026; follow-up post 8 Oct 2026 calls it "Our Most Powerful Foundation World Model"; site navigation offers "Try Odyssey-3"; posts not opened (links blocked)Made by Odyssey · 2026-09-15Versions Odyssey-1 → Odyssey-2 (Pro, Max) → Odyssey-3odyssey.systems/writing · odyssey.systems/writingone source
Stability AICompaniesBuilds open-weight generative models that make images, video and audio from text, including Stable Diffusion and Stable Audio, for media, games and music companies.
Profile
Founders
null (not named on pages opened)
Chief executive
Prem Akkaraju — CEO from 25 Jun 2024 (former CEO of Weta Digital)
Chief scientist or research lead
Christian Laforte — CTO (June 2024; previously interim co-CEO from March 2024)
Other leaders
Sean Parker — Executive Chairman (from 25 Jun 2024); Shan Shan Wong — COO (June 2024); Robert Legato — Chief Pipeline Architect (19 Mar 2025); Thomas Laffont (Coatue co-founder) — joined board 25 Aug 2026; Dana Settle (Greycroft) — board; James Cameron — board
Hq
null (2024 and 2026 releases datelined Los Angeles; no HQ stated). Site already holds a 2026 UK office closure (DEAL-LAB-014 / DEAL-LAB-2026).
What it does
Generative AI company that makes open-weight models for images (Stable Diffusion), audio and music (Stable Audio), video, 3D and multi-view camera work, plus enterprise creative tools such as Brand Studio. It now works closely with record labels, a games publisher and an advertising group.
Research focus
open-weight image, video, 3D and audio generation; enterprise creative production
Models and products
Stable Audio 3.0 — open-weight music model family — 20 May 2026; Brand Studio — creative production platform — 8 Apr 2026; Stable Audio 2.5 — enterprise sound production — 10 Sep 2025; Stable Diffusion 3.5 NIM (with NVIDIA) — 12 Aug 2025; Stability AI Solutions — 5 Aug 2025; Stable Video 4D 2.0 — 20 May 2025; Stable Audio Open Small (with Arm) — 14 May 2025; Stable Virtual Camera — multi-view video — 18 Mar 2025
Customers or partners named
Warner Music Group — AI music creation tools — 19 Nov 2025 — https://stability.ai/news-updates; Universal Music Group — strategic alliance on professional AI music tools — 30 Oct 2025 — same url; Electronic Arts — game development partnership — 23 Oct 2025 — same url; Amazon Bedrock — image services — 18 Sep 2025 — same url; NVIDIA — SD 3.5 NIM — 12 Aug 2025 — same url; Arm — 14 May 2025 — same url; AMD — 16 Apr 2025 — same url; joined the Tech Coalition — 11 Feb 2026 — same url
Funding total as published
232,000,000 USD, "inclusive of two equity rounds and convertible notes" — as of 25 Aug 2026 — https://stability.ai/news-updates/stability-ai-latest-funding-backed-by-entertainment-industry-biggest-names
Rounds found
2024-06-25 — initial round under new management — undisclosed — no lead named — Greycroft, Coatue, Sound Ventures, Lightspeed, O'Shaughnessy Ventures, Sean Parker, Prem Akkaraju, Eric Schmidt, Robert Nelsen; 2026-08-25 — Series B — 76,000,000 USD new capital — no lead named — Electronic Arts, Sony Music Group, Universal Music Group, Warner Music Group, AMD Ventures, Pacific Alliance Ventures (new); Coatue, Greycroft, Kadmos Capital, Lightspeed, Mantis Capital, Sound Ventures, WPP (returning); individuals incl. Sean Parker, Eric Schmidt, James Cameron
Status now
Raised a $76m Series B in August 2026 backed by music labels, EA and Sony Music; releases are datelined Los Angeles.

Labs Round 7 deep profile (30 Oct 2026), as the researchers wrote it; confidence: single_source.

Sources

  1. stability.ai/news-updates/stability-ai-latest-fu
  2. stability.ai/news-updates/stability-ai-latest-fu
  3. stability.ai/news-updates/stability-ai-secures-s
  4. stability.ai/news-updates
Models and products (27)

Version chainsStable Audio 2.0 (3 Apr 2024) → Stable Audio Open (5 Jun 2024) → Stable Audio Open Small (14 May 2025) → Stable Audio 2.5 (10 Sep 2025) → Stable Audio 3.0 (20 May 2026)StableLM → Stable LM 2Stable Diffusion v1 → 2.0 → SDXL → SDXL Turbo → SD3 → SD3.5

  1. Stable Audio 3.0 2026-05-20 released (open weights for Small SFX, Small, Medium; Large via API)Stability AI's audio model family for music and sound effects, trained on licensed data, mostly with open weights.
  2. Brand Studio 2026-04-08 released (product)Stability AI's creative production platform that generates content in a company's own brand style.
  3. Stable Audio 2.5 2025-09-10 released (API and enterprise licence)An enterprise audio model that generates brand music and sound in seconds.
  4. Stability AI Solutions 2025-08-05 released (enterprise service)Stability AI's packaged generative AI services for enterprise creative production.
  5. Stable Audio Open Small 2025-05-14 released (open weights)A small open audio model, released with Arm, that generates sound on phones and other devices.
  6. Stable Virtual Camera 2025-03-18 released (model)A model that makes multi-view video from images with 3D camera control.
  7. Stable Point Aware 3D (SPAR3D) 2025-01-08 released (model)A model that generates a complete 3D object from an image and allows real-time editing.
  8. Stable Diffusion 3.5 2024-10-22 released (model)Stability AI's text-to-image model family released in October 2024 and later offered through cloud marketplaces.
  9. Stable Fast 3D 2024-08-01 released (model)A model that makes a 3D asset from a single image quickly.
  10. Stable Video 4D (and SV4D 2.0) 2024-07-24 released (model)A model that turns one video into multi-angle video of a moving object.
  11. Stable Assistant 2024-07-09 released (product)Stability AI's assistant product, through which its image models were offered to users.
  12. Stable Audio Open 2024-06-05 released (open source)An open-source model for making short audio samples and sound effects.
  13. Stable Audio 2.0 2024-04-03 released (product)Stability AI's second-generation music and sound generation model.
  14. Stable Video 3D 2024-03-18 released (model)A model that generates new viewing angles and 3D objects from one image.
  15. TripoSR 2024-03-05 released (model)A model that makes a 3D object from a single image quickly.
  16. Stable Diffusion 3 (incl. SD3 Medium) 2024-02-22 released (API; open weights for Medium)Stability AI's third-generation text-to-image model; the 2-billion-parameter Medium version was released with open weights.
  17. Stable Cascade 2024-02-12 released (model)A Stability AI model announced in February 2024; launch post not opened, so details are not recorded.
  18. Stable LM 2 (1.6B and 12B) 2024-01-19 released (model)Stability AI's second family of small open language models, in 1.6-billion and 12-billion-parameter sizes.
  19. Stable Code 3B 2024-01-16 released (model)A small (3-billion-parameter, per its name) coding language model from Stability AI; launch post titled "Coding on the Edge".
  20. Stable Zero123 (and Stable Zero123C) 13 Dec 2023 (post updated 8 Jan 2024) released (non-commercial; Zero123C commercial for members)Model that generates new views of an object from a single picture, as a step to making 3D objects.
  21. SDXL Turbo (Adversarial Diffusion Distillation) 2023-11-28 released (non-commercial open weights)Fast version of SDXL that makes an image in a single step, close to real time.
  22. Stable Video Diffusion 2023-11-21 research preview (open code and weights)Stability AI's first video model, which turns a single image into a short video clip.
  23. SDXL (Stable Diffusion XL) 2023-07-04 (paper) superseded (open weights)Larger Stable Diffusion model for higher-resolution images, with a second text encoder and an optional refining model.
  24. DeepFloyd IF 28 Apr 2023 (year from page image timestamps) released (research licence)Text-to-image model from Stability AI's DeepFloyd research lab, built in three stages and able to write legible text inside images.
  25. Stable Diffusion (first public release, v1) no date superseded (open weights)The original open text-to-image model that made pictures from typed prompts on an ordinary consumer graphics card.
  26. Stable Diffusion 2.0 no date superseded (open weights)Second major Stable Diffusion release, with a new text encoder, higher default resolution and a 4x upscaler.
  27. StableLM (Alpha, 3B and 7B) no date superseded (open weights)Stability AI's first suite of open language models, released in two small sizes.
Why it is here: reason: trains its own video models (Stable Video Diffusion; 4Director video world-model research, Oct 2026)
Selected papers (12)
  1. Arbor: Explicit Geometric Conditioning for Controllable 3D Asset Generation Stability AI research · 7 October 2026
  2. 4Director: Controlling Video World Models with Rigid 3D Geometry 7 October 2026
  3. SemanTok: Predictable Semantic Tokens for Efficient Autoregressive Video Generation 7 October 2026
  4. Stable-Layers 3 June 2026
  5. Stable Audio 3 and SAME 20 May 2026
  6. Stable Audio 3 arXiv preprint · 18 May 2026The Stable Audio 3 model family generates music and sound in under two seconds on one H200 GPU and can edit or extend recordings.
  7. SD3.5-Flash: Distribution-Guided Distillation of Generative Flows 26 September 2025
  8. Stable Audio Open arXiv preprint · 19 Jul 2024An open-weight text-to-audio model that performed on a par with the best systems on several measures.
  9. Scaling Rectified Flow Transformers for High-Resolution Image Synthesis (Stable Diffusion 3 paper) arXiv preprint · 5 Mar 2024The architecture behind Stable Diffusion 3; the biggest models outperformed the best image generators of the time.
  10. Adversarial Diffusion Distillation (SDXL Turbo method) arXiv preprint · 28 Nov 2023A training method that lets a large image model produce a picture in a single step, in real time.
  11. Stable Video Diffusion: Scaling Latent Video Diffusion Models to Large Datasets arXiv preprint · 25 Nov 2023Training on large video datasets produced a text-to-video model competitive with closed-source systems.
  12. SDXL: Improving Latent Diffusion Models for High-Resolution Image Synthesis arXiv preprint · 4 Jul 2023The SDXL image model clearly outperformed earlier versions of Stable Diffusion; code and weights released on Stability AI's GitHub.
Key facts and news (7)
Status now
Led by CEO Prem Akkaraju (appointed June 2024); $76m new capital in Series B (25 Aug 2026) brought total funding to $232m; Coatue co-founder Thomas Laffont joined the board; announcement datelined Los Angeles one source stability.ai/news-updates/stability-ai-latest-fu
Funding as published (reported)
$232m including two equity rounds and convertible notes (25 Aug 2026) one source stability.ai/news-updates/stability-ai-latest-fu
Users and customers
Partners and backers named: Electronic Arts, Sony Music Group, Universal Music Group, Warner Music Group, WPP, AWS (Amazon Bedrock), NVIDIA, AMD, Arm stability.ai/news
Research focus
3D asset generation, controllable video world models, efficient autoregressive video, image layer decomposition, KV-cache compression, music autoencoders and text-to-audio (2025–26 research posts) stability.ai/research
Models released
Core Models list (updated 20 May 2026) also names SD Turbo, Japanese SDXL, Japanese Stable CLIP, Stable LM Zephyr 3B, Japanese Stable LM 2 1.6B, Japanese Stable VLM and Stable Code Instruct 3B (no dates on page; not added as products — UK build not shown for the Japanese models) one source stability.ai/core-models

News

Labs Round 8 (31 Oct 2026), from the researchers' rows; one-source items are marked.

Los AngelesCompanies House · stability.ai/news-updates/stability-ai-latest-fu · tech.eu/2026/08/25/stabiityai-raises-76m-with-wa · stability.ai/news/stability-ai-secures-significa · find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.verified
Stable Video 4D (and SV4D 2.0)Chips, models and productsA model that turns one video into multi-angle video of a moving object. released (model)Key facts Theme: Generative video. Stable Video 4D announced 24 Jul 2024; Stable Video 4D 2.0 announced 20 May 2025.Made by Stability AI · 2024-07-24Los Angeles (via Stability AI)stability.ai/news-updates/category/Product · stability.ai/news-updatesone source
Stable Video DiffusionChips, models and productsStability AI's first video model, which turns a single image into a short video clip. research preview (open code and weights)Key facts Theme: Generative video. Released 21 Nov 2023 as a research preview; code on GitHub, weights on Hugging Face; "not intended for real-world or commercial applications at this stage". Figures (21 Nov 2023): 14 and 25 frames at 3–30 frames per second. API release 20 Dec 2023. Later video/3D line: Stable Video 3D (18 Mar 2024), Stable Video 4D (24 Jul 2024), SV4D 2.0 (20 May 2025).Made by Stability AI · 2023-11-21Read the paperLos Angeles (via Stability AI)stability.ai/news-updates/stable-video-diffusion · stability.ai/news-updates/category/Productlab's own pages
Stable Virtual CameraChips, models and productsA model that makes multi-view video from images with 3D camera control. released (model)Key facts Theme: Generative video. Announced 18 Mar 2025 (news index).Made by Stability AI · 2025-03-18Los Angeles (via Stability AI)stability.ai/news-updatesone source
Starchild-1Chips, models and productsOdyssey world model the company describes as the first real-time multimodal world model. announcedKey facts Announced 18 May 2026 (post not opened: link blocked); details not verifiedMade by Odyssey · 2026-05-18odyssey.systems/writingone source
Veo (first version) in YouTube Dream ScreenChips, models and productsGoogle DeepMind's first Veo video model, brought to YouTube Shorts to make short background clips from a chosen image. superseded (product integration)Key facts 18 Sep 2024: Dream Screen uses Imagen 3 to make four candidate images, then Veo generates a 6-second background video; 6-second standalone clips stated for 2025; successors Veo 2 and Veo 3 already listed (BIZ-LAB-7163, 7166)Made by Google DeepMind · 2024-09-18 (YouTube integration announced; May 2024 launch post on blog.google not opened)Londondeepmind.google/blog/empowering-youtube-creatorsone source
Veo 2Chips, models and productsGoogle DeepMind's second video generation model, released with Imagen 3 in December 2024. released (superseded)Key facts Theme: Generative video. Announced December 2024; added to the Gemini app and Whisk April 2025. Veo videos carry SynthID watermarks (video watermarking announced 14 May 2024). Version history: Veo 2 (Dec 2024) → Veo 3 → Veo 3.1 (Oct 2025) → Veo 3.1 Lite (card 8 Apr 2026).Made by Google DeepMind · 2024-12Versions Veo 2 (Dec 2024) → Veo 3 → Veo 3.1 (Oct 2025) → Veo 3.1 Lite (card 8 Apr 2026)London (EC2M 4AG) (via Google DeepMind)deepmind.google/blog/page/7/ · deepmind.google/blog/page/7/lab's own pages
Veo 3 and Veo 3.1 (incl. Veo 3.1 Lite)Chips, models and productsGoogle DeepMind's leading video model, which makes 8-second clips at 1080p or 4K. released (Gemini app, Flow, Gemini API, AI Studio, Vids)Key facts Theme: Generative video. Veo 3 named on the Veo page ("Introducing Veo 3"; model card updated 13 Jan 2026; first release date not on pages opened). Veo 3.1 introduced October 2025; Ingredients to Video with vertical video 13 Jan 2026; Veo 3.1 Lite card 8 Apr 2026. Figures (Veo page, benchmarks last updated October 2025): 1080p and 4K output; 8-second videos; text-to-video evaluated on 1,003 MovieGenBench prompts with Veo 3.1 rated best on overall preference. Used in the film "ANCESTRA" (June 2025) and in Synthesia 3.0 (Oct 2025).Made by Google DeepMind · 2025-10London (EC2M 4AG) (via Google DeepMind)deepmind.google/models/veo/ · deepmind.google/blog/page/5/lab's own pages
WHAMM (real-time successor to WHAM; Quake II demo)Chips, models and productsFaster follow-up to Muse that generates a playable AI version of Quake II in real time. research demo (Copilot Labs)Key facts Published 4 Apr 2025; 10+ frames per second (WHAM-1.6B about 1); 640x360 resolution (WHAM-1.6B 300x180); trained on 1 week of gameplay (WHAM-1.6B 7 years); playable in Copilot Labs; the WHAM project page says WHAM-RT is "playable now in Copilot Labs"Made by Microsoft Research Cambridge · 2025-04-04Versions WHAM (Muse) → WHAMMCambridgemicrosoft.com/en-us/research/articles/whamm-realone source

Tile photo: College of Southern Nevada Photographic Film Camera, Noah Wulf, CC BY-SA 4.0 (Wikimedia Commons).