← Back to the Labs tiles

General AI agents

2 labs · 15 models and products Theme: Companies · Generated from this page's data. Click a name to open its panel on the Labs page. Records resting on one source are tagged "one source".

An AI agent is a system that does not just answer questions but carries out tasks: clicking through websites, playing games, or writing and fixing code. Most agents on this tile come from Google DeepMind: Gato, one network that plays games, captions images and controls a robot arm; SIMA, which follows instructions in 3D video games; and CodeMender, which finds and fixes security flaws (per the site). Convergence, a London start-up, built Proxy, a personal web agent (per the site); Salesforce bought it in 2025 and said it would build a centre of AI research in London.

Context

  1. DeepMind's Gato showed one AI model handling many kinds of task, input and body (simulated or robotic). 12 May 2022 arxiv.org/abs/2205.06175The agent, which we refer to as Gato, works as a multi-modal, multi-task, multi-embodiment generalist policy.
  2. DeepMind's Agent57 was the first deep reinforcement-learning agent to beat the standard human benchmark on all 57 Atari games. 30 March 2020 arxiv.org/abs/2003.13350We propose Agent57, the first deep RL agent that outperforms the standard human benchmark on all 57 Atari games.
  3. Google DeepMind's SIMA team set out to build an agent that follows instructions in any simulated 3D world. 13 March 2024 arxiv.org/abs/2404.10179develop an instructable agent that can accomplish anything a human can do in any simulated 3D environment
  4. Salesforce agreed to buy Convergence on 15 May 2025 (closed 11 June 2025) and said the deal would found an AI research centre in London. 15 May 2025 salesforce.com/news/stories/salesforce-signs-deflay the foundation for a growing center of AI R&D here
  5. The AI Security Institute reports that some abilities AI agents would need to evade human control are improving. 18 December 2025 aisi.gov.uk/blog/5-key-findings-from-our-first-fSome of the capabilities that would be required for AI models to evade human control are improving

Key papers

Labs Round 8 (31 Oct 2026): introduction and facts as the researchers wrote them; "(per the site)" marks a sentence resting on this site's own description of that lab.

RecordWhat it isPlaceLinksConfidence
Agent57Chips, models and productsA DeepMind game-playing agent reported to outperform the human benchmark on Atari games. released (paper)Key facts Theme: General AI agents. Blog March 2020 (index title). Details page not opened.Made by Google DeepMind · 2020-03London (EC2M 4AG) (via Google DeepMind)deepmind.google/blog/page/14/one source
AI co-clinicianChips, models and productsGoogle DeepMind research towards an AI that works alongside clinicians in patient care. researchKey facts Theme: General AI agents. Post dated 30 Apr 2026.Made by Google DeepMind · 2026-04-30London (EC2M 4AG) (via Google DeepMind)deepmind.google/blog/rss.xmlone source
ALOHA Unleashed and DemoStartChips, models and productsTwo robot-learning methods: one teaches two-armed robots complex tasks, the other trains dexterous hands in simulation. research (paper only)Key facts Announced 12 Sep 2024; DemoStart needs 100x fewer simulated demonstrations; over 98% success in simulation on several tasks; real-world 97% on cube reorientation and lifting, 64% on plug-socket insertion; access: paper onlyMade by Google DeepMind · 2024-09-12Londondeepmind.google/blog/advances-in-robot-dexterityone source
Co-ScientistChips, models and productsA Gemini-based multi-agent AI partner built to help researchers speed up scientific work. releasedKey facts Theme: General AI agents. Announced 12 May 2026; same week as "Gemini for Science" tools (17 May 2026) and five science case posts (16 May 2026).Made by Google DeepMind · 2026-05-12London (EC2M 4AG) (via Google DeepMind)deepmind.google/blog/rss.xml · deepmind.google/blog/rss.xmllab's own pages
CodeMenderChips, models and productsAn AI agent that finds and fixes security flaws in software and rewrites code to make it safer. research (not public; human-reviewed patches)Key facts Theme: General AI agents. Announced 6 Oct 2025. Figures (6 Oct 2025): "72 security fixes to open source projects", some in codebases as large as 4.5 million lines. Not publicly available; patches reviewed by people before submission.Made by Google DeepMind · 2025-10-06London (EC2M 4AG) (via Google DeepMind)deepmind.google/blog/introducing-codemender-an-a · deepmind.google/blog/page/5/one source
ConvergenceCompaniesLondon start-up that built Proxy, a personal AI agent that learns and carries out multi-step tasks on the web; now part of Salesforce. acquired
Profile
Founded
April 2024 (tech.eu meta description)
Founders
Marvin Purtorab — CEO and co-founder; Andy Toulis — co-founder
Chief executive
Marvin Purtorab — from null
Hq
London (England: London); other_offices: null
What it does
A London start-up that built AI agents able to carry out web-based tasks and cope with pop-ups, errors and page changes. Salesforce bought it in 2025 to strengthen its Agentforce agent product.
Research focus
AI agents for web workflows
Models and products
null (product name not given in fetched sources)
Customers or partners named
Salesforce — acquirer — agreement 15 May 2025, completed 11 June 2025 — https://salesforce.com/news/stories/salesforce-signs-definitive-agreement-to-acquire-convergence-ai/
Funding total as published
12,000,000 USD (pre-seed) — as of 15 May 2025 — https://tech.eu/2025/05/15/salesforce-acquires-uk-ai-startup-convergence-one-year-after-launch/
Valuation reported
null ("Financial details of the deal are not known.")
Rounds found
2024 — pre-seed — 12,000,000 USD — Balderton Capital — Salesforce Ventures and Shopify Ventures named as backers (already DEAL-LAB-032)
Status now
Part of Salesforce since 11 June 2025.

Labs Round 7 deep profile (30 Oct 2026), as the researchers wrote it; confidence: verified.

Sources

  1. salesforce.com/news/stories/salesforce-signs-def
  2. salesforce.com/news/stories/salesforce-signs-def
  3. tech.eu/2025/05/15/salesforce-acquires-uk-ai-sta
Londonsalesforce.com/news/stories/salesforce-signs-def · tech.eu/2025/05/15/salesforce-acquires-uk-ai-sta · tech.eu/2024/09/27/convergence-secures-12m-pre-s · salesforce.com/news/stories/salesforce-signs-defverified
CursiveCompaniesLab founded by senior DeepMind alumni building AI agents that keep learning from real-world use; described as a foundation model start-up.
Profile
Founded
2025 (Tech Funding News, trade, single)
Founders
Talfan Evans — co-founder and CEO; Olivier Henaff — co-founder (name from Tech Funding News only)
Chief executive
Talfan Evans — from null
Hq
London (England: London) (Tech Funding News); other_offices: null
What it does
A London lab founded by former DeepMind staff, building AI agents that keep learning from real-world use, using foundation models for predicting behaviour and reasoning over long tasks. It was described as still in stealth in April 2026.
Research focus
continual learning; self-improving agents; behavioural prediction; long-horizon reasoning
Compute
Sovereign AI / AIRR compute, one of six firms — 16 April 2026
Funding total as published
null (investor named by Tech Funding News: SuperSeed; amount undisclosed)
Uk government links
Sovereign AI / AIRR compute — 16 April 2026 (already DEAL-LAB-2035)
Status now
Active London lab in stealth, using Sovereign AI compute since April 2026.
What it does (Labs Round 8)
Not stated (no citable source opened)
Awards and programmes
Sovereign AI / AI Research Resource compute programme — Apr 2026 (already DEAL-LAB-2035; not re-opened this round)
Status now (Labs Round 8)
Not stated — not verified this round

Labs Round 7 and Labs Round 8 deep profile (30–31 Oct 2026), as the researchers wrote it; confidence: one source (nothing verified) ---.

Sources

  1. gov.uk/government/news/ai-firms-pioneering-drug-
  2. sovereignai.gov.uk/post/our-first-investments
  3. telecomtv.com/content/digital-platforms-services
  4. techfundingnews.com/uks-sovereign-ai-fund-names-
Why it is here: builds foundation models so its agents learn and improve from real-world use
Key facts and news (3)
Research focus
Foundation models for behavioural prediction and long-horizon reasoning, so agents improve the more they are deployed
Founders
Olivier Hénaff — co-founder (former DeepMind scientist); Talfan Evans — co-founder one source tech.eu/2026/05/01/over/
UK government links
Access to AIRR supercomputers through Sovereign AI, announced 16 Apr 2026 (see DEAL-LAB-2035)

Labs Round 8 (31 Oct 2026), from the researchers' rows; one-source items are marked.

gov.uk/government/news/ai-firms-pioneering-drug- · tech.eu/2026/05/01/over/ · sovereignai.gov.uk/post/our-first-investments · telecomtv.com/content/digital-platforms-servicesverified
GatoChips, models and productsOne neural network with one set of weights that plays games, captions images, chats and controls a robot arm. released (paper)Key facts Theme: General AI agents. Announced 12 May 2022. Figure stated: context window of 1,024 tokens. Access: research publication; no product.Made by Google DeepMind · 2022-05-12Read the paperLondon (EC2M 4AG) (via Google DeepMind)deepmind.google/blog/a-generalist-agent/ · deepmind.google/blog/page/12one source
Gemini 2.5 Computer UseChips, models and productsA Gemini model that operates computer interfaces such as web pages by clicking and typing. released (model card)Key facts Theme: General AI agents. Announced October 2025 (index); model card updated 7 Oct 2025. Later: computer use in Gemini 3.5 Flash (24 Jun 2026).Made by Google DeepMind · 2025-10London (EC2M 4AG) (via Google DeepMind)deepmind.google/blog/page/5/ · deepmind.google/models/model-cards/lab's own pages
Google Antigravity (and Antigravity 2.0)Chips, models and productsA Google product, launched November 2025, through which Gemini models and DeepMind tools (such as an AlphaGenome skill) are offered; version 2.0 followed in May 2026. released (product)Key facts Theme: General AI agents. "Introducing Google Antigravity" November 2025 (index); "Introducing Google Antigravity 2.0" 17 May 2026; used for antimicrobial peptide search (15 Oct 2026) and as a channel for Gemini models (model cards).Made by Google DeepMind · 2025-11London (EC2M 4AG) (via Google DeepMind)deepmind.google/blog/page/5/ · deepmind.google/blog/rss.xmllab's own pages
Open X-Embodiment dataset and RT-X models (RT-1-X, RT-2-X)Chips, models and productsPooled robot-training dataset from many labs and the robot models trained on it, which work across different robot types. released (open dataset; models)Key facts Announced 3 Oct 2023; data from 22 robot types; more than 500 skills, 150,000 tasks, more than 1 million episodes; partners from 33 academic labs; RT-1-X outperformed the original model by 50% on average; access: open datasetMade by Google DeepMind · 2023-10-03Londondeepmind.google/blog/scaling-up-learning-across- · deepmind.google/blog/2023-a-year-of-groundbreakilab's own pages
Project AstraChips, models and productsGoogle DeepMind's prototype universal assistant that sees and hears through a phone camera or prototype glasses and talks back in real time. research prototype (trusted testers)Key facts Used by a limited number of trusted testers (waitlist); version for blind and low-vision users in a trusted-tester programme; runs on Android phones and prototype glasses; features such as screen sharing and video understanding moved into Gemini LiveMade by Google DeepMind · — (date not stated on the project page)Londondeepmind.google/models/project-astra/one source
PROWL-1 and PROWL-2Chips, models and productsOdyssey research models that learn to act inside simulated worlds; the second learns simulation and decision-making together. announced (research)Key facts PROWL-1 announced 12 May 2026 ("Learning Through Discovery"); PROWL-2 announced 1 Oct 2026; posts not opened (links blocked)Made by Odyssey · 2026-05-12odyssey.systems/writingone source
RoboCatChips, models and productsSelf-improving robot agent that learns new tasks on different real robot arms from a few hundred demonstrations. research (paper only)Key facts Announced 20 Jun 2023; learns a new task from 100 to 1,000 demonstrations; data from four robot types; success on unseen tasks after 500 demonstrations rose from 36% (initial) to 74% (final); arXiv 2306.11706; access: paper onlyMade by Google DeepMind · 2023-06-20Londondeepmind.google/blog/robocat-a-self-improving-roone source
SIMA (Scalable Instructable Multiworld Agent)Chips, models and productsAn AI agent that follows spoken-style instructions to carry out tasks in 3D video games using keyboard and mouse. research only (technical report)Key facts Theme: General AI agents. Announced 13 Mar 2024 as early-stage research. Figures (13 Mar 2024): nine video games; eight game studio partners; 600 basic skills. Successor: SIMA 2 (13 Nov 2025).Made by Google DeepMind · 2024-03-13London (EC2M 4AG) (via Google DeepMind)deepmind.google/blog/sima-generalist-ai-agent-fo · deepmind.google/blog/page/9/one source
SIMA 2Chips, models and productsA Gemini-powered game agent that follows instructions, reasons about goals, talks with users and improves itself in 3D worlds. limited research previewKey facts Theme: General AI agents. Announced 13 Nov 2025; early access for a small group of academics and game developers. No numeric success rates in text. Predecessor SIMA (Mar 2024) learned over 600 skills.Made by Google DeepMind · 2025-11-13London (EC2M 4AG) (via Google DeepMind)deepmind.google/blog/sima-2-an-agent-that-plays- · deepmind.google/models/lab's own pages
XLand open-ended learning agentsChips, models and productsDeepMind agents trained across hundreds of thousands of generated 3D games that learned general game-playing behaviour. research (paper only)Key facts Announced 27 Jul 2021; about 700,000 unique games across 4,000 unique worlds; final agents trained on 3.4 million unique tasks; access: paper onlyMade by Google DeepMind · 2021-07-27Londondeepmind.google/blog/generally-capable-agents-emone source

Tile photo: UBTECH Alpha 1PRO Humanoid Robot - hack4no 2016, Kartverket, CC BY 2.0 (Wikimedia Commons).