| IBM Research UKCompanies | The UK research arm of the US computing company IBM, with labs at Hursley, near Winchester, and Daresbury, Cheshire, working on AI and quantum computing.Profile- Owner or parent
- IBM Research (IBM Research Europe)
- Lab director or lead
- Michael Bradley — UK Senior Research Manager, IBM Research (Hursley) — date not stated
- Other leaders
- Helen Stanton — Program Manager for Research; Dave Braines — Delivery lead for Safer Materials Advisor; Geeth de Mel — Manager and Senior Research Scientist; Anna Paola Carrieri — Manager and Senior Research Scientist
- Site and address as published
- "Based at Hursley"; Daresbury Lab (joint Hartree National Centre for Digital Innovation with STFC)
- Headcount
- Not stated ("growing team")
- What it does
- IBM's UK research lab, based at Hursley, with a team at Daresbury working with STFC's Hartree Centre. Its teams build algorithms for AI and quantum applications in earth and space observation, healthcare and life sciences, materials and AI-accelerated science. In 2026 it released TokaMind, a foundation model of fusion plasma built with the UK Atomic Energy Authority.
- Research groups or focus
- "artificial intelligence, climate and life sciences, quantum computing, and hybrid cloud"; Bradley's teams: Earth and Space Observation, Healthcare and Life Sciences, AI-accelerated science; projects: physics extremes computing, simulation for accelerated discovery, Auto-omics
- Notable outputs
- TokaMind — fusion plasma foundation model (about 9 million parameters, about 40 signals from the MAST tokamak), with UKAEA and the Hartree Centre — 23 Apr 2026 (partnership already BIZ-CLD-6028); TokaMark — benchmark of 14 plasma-analysis tasks — 2026; flood-event detection from satellite data, co-developed with Hartree — blog of 31 Mar 2023; AI platform for inflammatory bowel disease drug development with Reprocell and Hartree — 2023. The UK lab page also lists TerraStackAI, an IBM–ESA open-source flood and wildfire model, an open-source ocean model and foundation models for materials; UK authorship of each is not stated.
- Selected papers
- TokaMind (full title not seen) — arXiv — Feb 2026 — https://arxiv.org/html/2602.15084v1 ; TokaMark (full title not seen) — arXiv — Feb 2026 — https://arxiv.org/html/2602.10132v2 (both links taken from IBM's blog; arXiv pages not opened)
- Funding or budget as published
- Hartree National Centre for Digital Innovation, £210m over five years — 4 Jun 2021 — https://uk.newsroom.ibm.com/2021-06-04-UK-STFC-Hartree-Centre-and-IBM-Begin-Five-Year-210-Million-Partnership-to-Accelerate-Discovery-and-Innovation-with-AI-and-Quantum-Computing (already DEAL-BIG-001)
- Partners named
- STFC Hartree Centre — HNCDI, "our first Discovery Accelerator in Europe" — Jun 2021; UKAEA — TokaMind — Apr 2026; Reprocell — IBD drug-development platform — 2023; Unilever and Gexcon UK — HNCDI launch partners quoted — Jun 2021
- Uk government links
- HNCDI with STFC (UKRI), announced with Science Minister Amanda Solloway, Jun 2021; DSIT's Regulatory Innovation Office co-hosted an AI hackathon with IBM (sector plan update, 10 Jun 2026)
- Status now
- Active; HNCDI's five-year term began June 2021, and no renewal was found on pages opened.
Labs Round 8 deep profile (31 Oct 2026), as the researchers wrote it; confidence: verified (HNCDI: IBM newsroom and IBM Research blog); other fields one source. Sources - research.ibm.com/labs/uk
- research.ibm.com/people/michael-bradley
- uk.newsroom.ibm.com/2021-06-04-UK-STFC-Hartree-C
- research.ibm.com/blog/ibm-stfc-accelerating-inno
- research.ibm.com/blog/fusion-plasma-ai-model
Models and products (1)- TokaMind (fusion plasma foundation model) 2026-02-16 released (open source)Open-source foundation model for fusion plasma, trained on data from UKAEA's MAST tokamak by IBM Research, UKAEA and the Hartree Centre.
| Hursley, Winchester | uk.newsroom.ibm.com/2021-06-04-UK-STFC-Hartree-C · gov.uk/government/publications/digital-and-techn · ukri.org/news/stfc-launches-powerful-new-ai-supe · gov.uk/government/news/pm-launches-national-skil | verified |