← Back to the Safety tiles

Deepfake and content provenance

4 records Generated from this page's data. Click a name to open its panel on the Safety page. Records resting on one source are tagged "one source".
RecordWhat it isPlaceLinksConfidence
AISI and Thorn AI child-abuse material safety protocolPartnerships and contractsProtocol written by AISI with child-safety group Thorn for safely testing AI models' risks of producing child sexual abuse material; Home Office sets safeguards. publishedaisi.gov.uk/blog/our-approach-to-tackling-ai-genone source
Deepfake Detection Challenge (Home Office)Schemes, programmes and AI linesHome Office challenge, run through ACE with DSIT and Alan Turing Institute support, where shortlisted teams showed deepfake detection tools. showcase heldace.blog.gov.uk/2024/07/30/innovative-solutions- · ace.blog.gov.uk/category/artificial-intelligenceverified
SerelaySchemes, programmes and AI linesBristol company that records cryptographic proof of origin when photos and videos are taken on phones, used in insurance claims and policing.BristolWebsite · Companies Houseone source
SynthesiaCompanies · also on LabsMakes software that turns typed text into videos presented by digital human avatars, mostly for company training.
Profile
Founded
2017
Founders
Victor Riparbelli — CEO & Co-Founder; Steffen Tjerrild — COO & Co-Founder; Lourdes Agapito — co-founder (role not stated on page)
Chief executive
Victor Riparbelli — from null
Other leaders
Peter Hill — CTO; Ken Lawshe — CRO; Laura Gonzalez — Chief of Staff and Head of People; Gabe Stern — General Counsel; Joe Ciarallo — Head of Communications, United States; Brett Taylor — hired with Seattle expansion, 22 Jun 2026 (role not opened)
Hq
London (England: London) — 20 Triton Street, Regent's Place, NW1 3BF; other_offices: New York; Austin and Berlin (new, April 2026); Paris and Zurich (expanded, April 2026); Seattle (expansion, June 2026)
Headcount
careers page shows both "600+ GLOBAL EMPLOYEES" and "900+ GLOBAL EMPLOYEES" (undated, read 30 Oct 2026) — https://www.synthesia.io/careers; plan to grow global headcount by more than 70% in 2026 (21 Apr 2026). UK headcount not published; "roughly 80%" of London HQ staff are immigrants (careers page).
What it does
AI video platform for companies. Users type text and get training, sales or internal videos presented by AI avatars and voices in many languages. Newer products add interactive avatars that coach, interview and guide people, and a tool that makes video and motion graphics from a single prompt.
Research focus
AI avatars, video generation, dubbing, interactive video agents
Models and products
Syren — video and motion graphics from a single prompt — 9 Oct 2026; Sessions — platform where interactive avatars coach, interview and guide — 1 Oct 2026; AI Press Officer — 26 Aug 2026; Roleplay Sessions — 22 Jul 2026; Interactive Avatar API — 15 Jul 2026; Express-3 avatar model and AI Assistant — 15 Jul 2026; Dubbing 2.0 — 15 Jul 2026; Next-Gen Pronunciation Controls — 11 Jun 2026
Customers or partners named
Hays — Roleplay Sessions for skills development — 22 Oct 2026 — https://www.synthesia.io/blog/category/synthesia; NVIDIA — interactive avatar of its CEO at GTC Berlin — 20 Oct 2026 — same url; Nexity — customer quoted on production timelines — 21 Apr 2026 — https://www.synthesia.io/post/synthesia-global-expansion-austin-berlin-paris-zurich-2026; KnowBe4 — partnership — 20 Apr 2026 — https://www.synthesia.io/blog/category/synthesia; Multiverse — 3 Jun 2026 — same url; Cinder — trust and safety partner — 4 Jun 2026 — same url; AWS — 17 Sep 2025 — same url; "over 90% of the Fortune 100" — 26 Jan 2026 — https://www.synthesia.io/post/series-e-200-million-4-billion-valuation-future-work
Papers and awards
Fast Company "Next Big Things in Tech" list — 6 Oct 2026; signed the EU Article 50 Code of Practice — 29 Jul 2026
Valuation reported
4,000,000,000 USD — 26 Jan 2026 — https://www.synthesia.io/post/series-e-200-million-4-billion-valuation-future-work (single source)
Rounds found
2026-01-26 — Series E — 200,000,000 USD — GV (lead) — Evantic, Hedosophia, NVentures, Accel, Kleiner Perkins, NEA, PSP Growth, Air Street Capital, FirstMark, MMC Ventures; plus employee secondary sale run with Nasdaq at the same valuation; 2025-04-15 — strategic investment — undisclosed — Adobe Ventures (ARR passed $100m)
Uk government links
Memorandum of Understanding with the UK Government "to advance AI adoption and upskilling across the UK" — 9 Jun 2026
Status now
Valued at $4bn after its January 2026 Series E; expanding offices in the US and Europe and launching interactive-avatar products.

Labs Round 7 deep profile (30 Oct 2026), as the researchers wrote it; confidence: single_source.

Sources

  1. synthesia.io/post/series-e-200-million-4-billion
  2. synthesia.io/post/series-e-200-million-4-billion
  3. synthesia.io/careers
  4. synthesia.io/post/synthesia-global-expansion-aus
  5. synthesia.io/blog/category/synthesia
  6. synthesia.io/post/100-million-revenue-adobe-inve
Models and products (10)

Version chainsEXPRESS-1 (Apr 2024) → Express-2 (named with Synthesia 3.0, 1 Oct 2025; action avatars 13 Nov 2025) → Express-3 (15 Jul 2026)

  1. Personal Avatars (Synthesia digital twins) — (launch date not stated; docs page modified 22 Oct 2026) live (paid plans)Synthesia feature that builds a talking digital copy of a real person from a photo, webcam or studio footage.
  2. Syren (Synthesia prompt-to-video tool) 2026-10-09 betaSynthesia's tool that turns a written request or documents into a finished business video with motion graphics, avatars, voice and music.
  3. Sessions (Roleplay, Survey and Expert Sessions) 2026-10-01 live (Roleplay and Survey); Expert comingSynthesia platform where interactive AI avatars hold live conversations with staff for coaching, surveys and guidance.
  4. Express-3 2026-07-15 released (rolling out to all plans)Synthesia's newest avatar model, with more natural lip sync, body movement and gestures that match the script.
  5. Interactive Avatar API 2026-07-15 released (enterprise; managed version planned)An API that lets developers put a live talking Synthesia avatar into their own website or app.
  6. Dubbing 2.0 (Synthesia) 2026-07-15 live (product)Synthesia's upgraded video dubbing, translating speech into other languages with matching lip movements.
  7. Express-2 (customisable action avatars) 2025-11-13 released (product)Synthesia's second avatar model, which lets one avatar both explain and act out a short clip in the same editor.
  8. Synthesia 3.0 and Video Agents 2025-10-01 released (platform)Synthesia's 2025 platform release, adding Video Agents that hold real-time conversations inside videos.
  9. Synthesia 2.0 2024-06-23 released (platform)Synthesia's rebuilt business platform for making and sharing AI videos, with personal avatars and an AI video assistant.
  10. EXPRESS-1 (Expressive Avatars) 2024-04-22 released (product)Synthesia's avatar model that delivers a script with matching tone, body language and lip sync.
20 Triton Street, Regent's Place, London (NW1 3BF)Companies House · synthesia.io/post/series-e-200-million-4-billion · uktech.news/ai/synthesia-4bn-valuation-confirmed · synthesia.io/post/synthesia-secures-180m-in-seri · synthesia.io/newsroomverified

Tile photo: Photographic lenses and tubes 2025, Carlos Valenzuela Montuy, CC BY 4.0 (Wikimedia Commons).